top of page

Single preview: Sophia 'Skin'


Artwork credit: Peter Robinson (Eye of the Tyne)

Anyone who knows me, knows I have an insatiable appetite for new music and having a cheeky early listen to new music pre-release, is one of my favourite things about running Dreaminisfree and being a music journalist.


The North East is producing a staggering number of talented artists at the moment and one of those acts is most definitely Sophia, who's latest release 'Skin' hits all digital platforms on 27th November.


Despite her relatively recent emergence has already received high praise from North East tastemakers NARC Magazine; Spark Radio and the continued support from BBC Introducing.


Having had an early listen to 'Skin' I can promise you this young woman has a voice that will give you goose bumps! The piano is hauntingly beautiful, but her voice adds a level of emotion that is nothing short of spellbinding!


I rarely do this, but you can guarantee that this will be on my Dreaminisfree Recommends playlist next week.


For 'Skin' Sophia collaborated with producer Alfie Cattell (Moodbay) for the first time and what makes it all the more remarkable is that this was all done over Zoom!


Sophia said about the feel of the track, “We wanted it to be really atmospheric, slightly haunting but warm at the same time and I like to think that we’ve achieved that.

Sharing your words can be scary, working alone allows me to feel safe and truly express my thoughts. Skin explores my emotions, being in a situation where someone who once made you feel at home just doesn’t anymore, how you can no longer see them in the same light and how there’s just no going back.”


You can pre-save Skin via this link


Summing this track up in one word - mesmerizing!


For fans of Hatchie, Matilda Mann, Arlo Parks, Japanese Breakfast, Artschool Girlfriend, Aurora.


Sophia





Any artists looking to collaborate with Dreaminisfree please email me debbie@dreaminisfree.co.uk - EPK or Press releases are optional!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page