top of page

Dreaminisfree Introduces - Kitty Montague


Up next on Dreaminisfree Introduces is London based, singer-songwriter Kitty Montague. She's already gained support from Notion, FMS Magazine, Music Crowns and BBC Music Introducing, supported Gabrielle Aplin for Banquet Records and performed with Sofar Sounds and Talentbanq.


Having heard her latest single 'I Kissed You Politely' I wanted to get to know more about this prodigious talent, who has an incredible voice.


How would you describe your sound to someone who hasn’t heard your music before?

I write in Pop, sing in Soul and preach about Feminism!!


Who are your main musical influences?

I am mainly influenced by lyricists, and soulful vocals. I love the intricate word play from current artists such as Jessie Reyez, Caitlynn Scarlett and Easy Life; as well as my first loves, Paolo Nutini, KateNash, LilyAllen and JamieT. My voice developed from earlier soul and jazz influences such as Nina Simone and Billie Holiday, artists that were introduced to me by my grandad.


Which artist or person has inspired you most in your career in music?

Growing up I was in awe of Lily Allen and Kate Nash, they were the first artists that I remember notably impacting me. I loved their attitudes; they rebelled against the sexism that women face, and everything that women are expected to be, which I found extremely powerful!



Your latest single ‘I Kissed You Politely’ is a juxtapose to most pop songs – rather than talking about love and chasing someone; you’re singing about the controlling nature of having been put in a situation you weren’t comfortable with. Was it an easy song to write?

Yes this song is very close to home, inspired by my own experiences, as well as those of my friends and the many women who identify with the me too movement. Writing the track dug up a lot of raw emotions, but I'm incredibly proud of how the track turned out.


The new single is your second of 2021. Will we see more this year or are you working on an EP or maybe an album?

We have an EP in the pipeline, watch this space!


If you could give anyone a word of advice in pursuing their dreams to have a career in music what would you tell them.

Follow the direction that makes you feel the happiest!




Dreaminisfree always has and always will be free - Any artists looking to collaborate please email debbie@dreaminisfree.co.uk















0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page