top of page

EP Preview - The Battery Farm 'Dirty Den's March of Suffering'



They say people know where they were and what they were doing, at significant times in history. When JFK was shot, when Elvis died, when they first heard the tragic news of Lady Diana's passing. But what has this got to do with an EP from one of Manchester's most astute bands? The day I first heard The Battery Farm, I remember it as if it was yesterday.


I'd arranged to interview the lads for this humble blog and as part of my preparations I watched the video to their debut single 97/91 - I didn't know what I was watching. I was part mesmerised/part terrified, and I've been hooked ever since!

The Battery Farm are also one of the last bands I saw perform live before lockdown last year. If I'd been mesmerised when I first saw their debut single video, seeing them live was another level. I was in awe.


Fast forward to October 2021 and the band are set to release "Dirty Den's March of Suffering" only their 2nd EP and their label debut. Produced by David Radahd-Jones, recorded at Red City Studios in Manchester and mastered by Pete Maher.


The Battery Farm - Pic credit Trust A Fox Photography
"It is an EP about the moment of death and everything that entails - its ridiculousness, its terror, its futility, even its joy - framed through the prism of Soap Opera characters and Soap culture. It is our most personal and reflective work so far while losing none of the power and fury upon which we have built a reputation as one of the most exciting new bands in the region."

I've been lucky enough to have had a listen before it's release. The Battery Farm have proven to me that not only are they the masters of the macabre with tracks like 'Drowning In the Black', nor or they just riotous, raging raconteurs 'Roy Keane Isn't Real' - they have the ability to turn their hand to the gentler, tender, fastidious side of song writing 'When The Whip Goes Crack' - which incidentally gave me goose bumps the first time I heard it.



Make no mistake if you want a band in your life that sings about the real stuff, the hard stuff, the stuff that inspires legends to pick up the sword and rage into battle - you need to be listening to this band.


Summing this Ep up in one word - ingenious


The Battery Farm - Pic credit Trust A Fox Photography

Dreaminisfree always has and always will be free - Any artists looking to collaborate please email debbie@dreaminisfree.co.uk



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page