top of page

Dreaminisfree's Top 20 Albums of 2020




As with most of you, music has kept me going through 2020. Due to a medical vulnerability I spent three months solo isolated earlier this year. Music has always been important to me and this year, I've been reminded why it's absolutely vital to the human experience.


Music touches the soul. Each and every one of these albums I'm going to share with you, has given me strength, fortitude and above all; made the whole sorry mess that has been 2020, slightly more bearable.


I've created a playlist that has every single album on it here - each album mentioned below is also linked.


Every one of these albums is a 10/10 for me - without exception.



Dreaminisfree's Top 20 Albums of 2020


1 I Break Horses - Warnings

My favourite and most listened to album of 2020. This is not an album, this is a sonic symphony. I listen to this and I loose all track of time and space. Each album is arranged in such a way because it takes the listener on a voyage - this is a voyage into another reality. I am in awe of how incredible this record is.

Summing this album up in one word -Transcendent!





2 IDLES - Ultra Mono

IDLES wrote this album in 2019 - a world far removed from the one it was released into. They've said that this is the most IDLES sounding record they've released. It's split many critics, but for me it's their finest album. From the first riffs on 'War' to the final notes on Danke, this is unadulterated fast and furious joy.

Summing this album up in one word -

Necessary!




I'd not even heard of this band until they released this album and since then, they've become one of my favourite bands of all time. I believe every generation produces a band that is destined for greatness. I'm talking Nirvana, Rage Against The Machine and The Stooges. As far as debut albums goes, this is amongst those aforementioned bands. It's a fucking stunning album!

Summing this album up in one word -

Extraordinary!


4 Kamal Williams - Wu Hen

This is an album that almost defies genre. It has grime, jazz, classical and funk. Saxophone, strings and big fat bass lines. It's as eclectic as hell and I love it. Brassy as hell, yet gentle as well. Everyone I've recommended this album to this year, has loved it. If you want something that's completely different then this is going to be as different as you've experienced.

Summing this album up in one word -

Magnificent!



5 Jehnny Beth - To Love Is To Live

For me this album is one of the most relatable albums of 2020. This album is an exploration of sexuality and desire. Lust, Rage, Uncertainty, Failure, Hesitancy – a disjointedness of emotion matched by the brilliance in the performance of Beth. With each new listen this album reveals differing elements. You will go back to it again and again and again.

Summing this album up in one word -

Dazzling!



Bugeye are another band I've only discovered in the last twelve months. This is also another debut album. Bugeye are unafraid of facing their demons, rejecting the pull of the filtered façade and replacing it with a ferocious honesty and authenticity. This is disco/indie/punk at its finest.

Summing this album up in one word -

Sprightly!




7 The Big Moon - Walking Like We Do

In times of struggle this is an album I've gone to to lift my spirits. The Big Moon were also one of the acts I was looking to forward seeing the most at Glastonbury this year. Whilst I never had the opportunity to see them this year, I know I will at some point. I cannot wait to hear the songs from this album. It's definitely given me 'Light' in 2020.

Summing this album up in one word -

Edifying!



8 Roisin Murphy - Roisin Machine

Roisin Murphy has been a love of mine for so long. From Moloko to her solo career, this woman has been an integral part of dance and electronic culture. If ever there was a record that could capture the absolute highs of one of the best nights out of your life, this would be it. The album was ten years in the making as Roisin wanted to have the best possible technology to make this happen - it was worth the wait!

Summing this album up in one word -

Scintilating!


9 Falcon Jane - Faith

Led by singer Sara May, Falcon Jane are another new band to me for 2020. Her single Heaven released prior to Faith brought me to tears. Her voice is incredibly distinct and one of the reasons I love this band. She coined the phrase plez-rock for her sound and it's nailed on accurate. This is a stunning record.

Summing this album up in one word -

Exquisite!




10 Girlhood - Girlhood

When I made this my album of the week on its week of release I said it was one of my debut albums of 2020. I stand by that statement. If this album is not listed in next years Mercury Prize they've been robbed. Drawing influences from RNB, Hip Hop and Soul this album is a phenomenal piece of work.

Summing this album up in one word -

Sublime!




11 Sunship Balloon - Everywhen

This is the debut album from Sunship Balloon who are Dan and Tord from The Wombats. This is another of those headphones on and be transported kind of albums. Dreamy sonics-capes and stunning instrumentals as well as thought provoking lyrics.

Summing this album up in one word -

Stellar!

12 Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

Phoebe Bridgers isn't renowned for upbeat music, but her second album whilst it has its darker moments is also one that offers hope and light. Her writing on this album, with her use of abstract and wit shows she can take the dark and make light of it. She's a another incredibly distinct voice and this will be in many people's albums of the year lists.

Summing this album up in one word -

Spiritual!



13 Georgie - At Home

For me Georgie is one of the voices of 2020. The album is as up beat and optimistic, as it is fatalistic and yearning. At Home, is a harrowing journey of love, loss and acceptance. All I can say is you better get your tissues ready, you're in for an emotional rollercoaster!

Summing this album up in one word -

Emotive!





14 beabadoobee - Fake It Flowers

Bea Kristi aka beabadoobee has a level of output that's as equally intimidating as it is inspiring. She's been called the voice of a generation by some publications and whilst this may be a lot of pressure, she's proven she can rise to any challenge. This record made me want to play the guitar and hone my craft even more. It's raw, inspired and courageously honest in a filtered world full of anything but.

Summing this album up in one word -

Fearless!


15 Lianne La Havas - Lianne La Havas

Lianne has said that in releasing this album in her 30's and learning who she really is; She's telling all women that they can be any kind of woman they want to be. This album will move you to your core. It's an album for lovers. Her voice is the main feature of the album. There is no hiding but trust me she doesn't need to hide. One of the finest voices you will ever hear.

Summing this album up in one word -

Sensous!



16 Dream Nails - Dream Nails

This is the album I bought on vinyl, on record store day. To have a band who are unafraid to share their sexuality and stand up for trans inclusion not only in their lyrics, but also in their everyday lives is reflective of how society should be. On listening to Vagina Police 2.0 I cried (really). Dream Nails are another band destined for greatness and I'll be cheering loudly. Very loudly!

Summing this album up in one word -

Resplendent!


17 Laura Fell - Safe From Me

This album was only released three weeks ago, but the times I've listened to it are already in double figures. It's her debut release and she is again one of my favourite discoveries of 2020. Laura's voice is instantly recognisable. 'Safe From Me' is a vulnerably beautiful, all laid bare album. It should be treated as you would something as equally fragile as it is beautiful. I'm in love with this record!

Summing this album up in one word -

Beguiling!


18 Max Richter - Voices

Any album that has the preamble of "The Declaration of Human Rights" at its start, is going to pull at your heart strings. In a world where equality and fairness is scant this comes at a time where some need to be reminded of how important all human life is. Max Richter's is one of the most revered composers of his generation and this record is the work of a genius. This double album will move your soul.

Summing this album up in one word -

Poignant!



19 Bully - SUGAREGG

SUGAREGG is a record of pure grunge, punk rage. Bully allowed someone else to help her with the production on the album a first for her. In doing so it freed her from the pressures of production so she could concentrate on her music. Eschewing the paranoia and anxiety of her previous releases, SUGAREGG is a tempest of personal empowerment, growth, and controlled chaos. Prepare to be blown away. Literally!

Summing this album up in one word -

Jubilant!



20 Fenne Lily - BREACH

This album is a journey of self discovery through isolation, failed relationships and introspection. We've all had these feelings magnified in 2020. This album offers light where there is darkness, hope where there is emptiness. She has the kind of voice that could make the most mundane appear to the most beautiful.

Summing this album up in one word -

Enchanting!





If there are any new albums for you on this list then please go and listen to them - each and every one of them is pure magic. I have no idea what 2021 holds. But if the soundtrack is as good as it has been over the last 12 months, I'm so ready for anything it brings!


Dreaminisfree always has and always will be free. Any artists looking to collaborate please email debbie@dreaminisfree.co.uk



Dreaminisfree



0 comments
bottom of page